12 Weeks – It’s Human!

Well, I’ve made it this far, though it’s been a bitch to be honest. There was violent all day long nausea (whoever termed it morning sickness is on my black list), then spontaneous vomiting, which I’m not sure is really over yet, and though the all day nausea is gone, having the ability to smell a large fraction of what dogs can smell out in the world is threatening my ability to keep food down when I go outside.

The little squatter has been working his/her way through most of the food categories in terms of size. It started out as a poppy seed, then a sesame seed, then it was a lentil, then a blueberry, then a raspberry, then an olive, then a prune, then a plum, and now here we are, and it’s about the size of a peach. A small peach mind you.

Here’s yesterday’s sonogram. To my great relief, he’s human. Everything is normal, and true to form on my side of the gene pool, his head is bigger than average for his average size body. I haven’t tooled around wordpress so I don’t know why it’s so small, but if you click on it you’ll see a large version. You may notice the 5 digits of the left hand above the stomach in one of the pictures. Afif maintains that the squatter was either holding a martini with extra olives or giving the sonogram technician the finger because she was trying to get him to move (which he clearly wasn’t interested in doing, so the latter is the more likely version of events). The white thing you sometimes see under his chin is the heart in mid-beat.

6 Comments

Filed under milestones, Uncategorized

6 responses to “12 Weeks – It’s Human!

  1. Chloe

    Welcome little man!! (Wait, is it a boy? or are you just calling it a “him” for ease?)
    This is so exciting…
    I want a new sonogram every week. Can you manage that? Also, maybe you should wear nose plugs? I know it’ll look weird, but you can claim you’re just a big Phelps fan, or something.

  2. Hilda

    I’m just calling it a him for ease, there’s no way of knowing what “it” is yet. Although Afif says that based on the “finger” thing, it’s definitely his kid.
    I’ll look into the weekly sonogram thing just for you.

  3. Tanya

    Yay for the little peach. I’m with Chloe on that question. Hopefully the nausea is completely over very soon. Aside from the Phelps fan trick, there is also the Michael Jackson surgical mask alternative. Sparkly glove is optional.

  4. Marie

    Woo-hoo!!! No martinis for you, young lady. At least, not for several months…but then…
    I am so happy for you I could just…just…just…have a martini!! Sorry about the morning sickness; but it too, shall pass. Next is that you’ll have to put up with strangers, with that questioning look in their eyes…is she a bit thick or is she pregnant? My advice is to wear lots of really creative T-shirts like one with a big arrow on it pointing down saying “baby on board”…and that’s all I got. I think I still have one somewhere that I didn’t pass on to Goodwill that I wear on days that I’m feeling a little too full for a herve leger band-aid dress. And make sure to have a really good pedicure, at all times. You never know.
    WOO-HOO!!! He’s a handsome young man…

  5. Amie

    OH MY GOD! ohmygodohmygodohmygod. I’m so excited to have another niece or nephew! Yay! Now I can actually see the little one. I haven’t been this excited since they invented Febreeze. I love you!

  6. Amanda

    Hi love! I am so happy for you and thankful for a way to keep up to date on your passenger. What a splendid idea! I don’t have any advice on morning sickness. I have been hungover a lot in the mornings, and it sometimes make me sick, which would really make it morning sickness…right? On those days, I order pizza, drink soda, and sometimes I have another drink. Okay…nevermind…I really don’t have any advice. I do love you and am thinking of you each day!

Leave a Reply

